2017 Debut Authors of Color & Native Americans

 

Note:
1) The list will be updated as needed for additional author names, book release dates, and book covers.
2) All book titles link to Teaching for Change bookstore, which carries multicultural and social justice books for all ages. Proceeds from sale benefit Teaching for Change, a non-profit that “provides teachers and parents with the tools to create schools where students learn to read, write and change the world.”

 

January

after-the-fall-coverKate Hart (member of Chikasaw Nation with Choctaw heritage)
After the Fall; Farrar, Strauss and Giroux, January 24th, 2017
@Kate_Hart
Seventeen-year-old Raychel is sleeping with two boys: her overachieving best friend Matt…and his slacker brother, Andrew. Raychel sneaks into Matt’s bed after nightmares, but nothing ever happens.

9780545767033Celeste Lim (Malaysian American)
The Crystal Ribbon; Scholastic, January 31st, 2017
@veryCeleste
In the village of Huanan, in medieval China, the deity that rules is the Great Huli Jing. Though twelve-year-old Li Jing’s name is a different character entirely from the Huli Jing, the sound is close enough to provide constant teasing-but maybe is also a source of greater destiny and power.

9780544785106Linda W Jackson (African American)
Midnight Without A Moon; HMHKids, January 3rd, 2017
@LindaWJackson
It’s Mississippi in the summer of 1955, and Rose Lee Carter can’t wait to move north. But for now, she’s living with her sharecropper grandparents on a white man’s cotton plantation.

9780062422644Tiffany D. Jackson (African American)
Allegedly; Harper Collins, January 24th, 2017
@WriteinBK
Orange Is the New Black meets Walter Dean Myer’s Monster in this gritty, twisty, and haunting debut by Tiffany D. Jackson about a girl convicted of murder seeking the truth while surviving life in a group home.

 

February

9780062498533Angie Thomas (African American)
The Hate U Give; Balzer + Bray, February 28th, 2017
@acthomasbooks
Inspired by the Black Lives Matter movement, Angie Thomas’s searing debut about an ordinary girl in extraordinary circumstances addresses issues of racism and police violence with intelligence, heart, and unflinching honesty.

9780062473042Ibi Zoboi (Haitian American)
American Streets; Balzer + Bray, February 14th, 2017
@ibizoboi
American Street is an evocative and powerful coming-of-age story perfect for fans of Everything, Everything; Bone Gap; and All American Boys. In this stunning debut novel, Pushcart-nominated author Ibi Zoboi draws on her own experience as a young Haitian immigrant, infusing this lyrical exploration of America with magical realism and vodou culture.

9781101999103Rhoda Belleza (Asian American)
Empress of a Thousand Skies; Razorbill, February 7th, 2017
@rhodabee
Empress
Rhee, also known as Crown Princess Rhiannon Ta’an, is the sole surviving heir to a powerful dynasty. She’ll stop at nothing to avenge her family and claim her throne.

9781250079213S. “J.J.” Jae-Jones (Korean American)
Wintersong; A Thomas Dunne Book for St. Martin’s Griffin, February 7th, 2017
@sjaejones
Dark, romantic, and unforgettable, Wintersong is an enchanting coming-of-age story for fans of Labyrinth and Beauty and the Beast. The last night of the year. Now the days of winter begin and the Goblin King rides abroad, searching for his bride…

9781481472111Lilliam Rivera (Latinx)
The Education of Margot Sanchez; Simon and Schuster, February 21st, 2017
@lilliamr
Pretty in Pink comes to the South Bronx in this bold and romantic coming-of-age novel about dysfunctional families, good and bad choices, and finding the courage to question everything you ever thought you wanted—from debut author Lilliam Rivera.

see-you-in-the-cosmosJack Cheng (Chinese American)
See You in the Cosmos; Dial Books, February 28th, 2017
@jackcheng
11-year-old Alex Petroski loves space and rockets, his mom, his brother, and his dog Carl Sagan–named for his hero, the real-life astronomer. All he wants is to launch his golden iPod into space the way Carl Sagan (the man, not the dog) launched his Golden Record on the Voyager spacecraft in 1977.

 

March

9781481486965Karuna Riazi (Muslim American)
The Gauntlet; Salaam Reads/Simon & Schuster, March 28th, 2017
@KarunaRiazi
A trio of friends from New York City find themselves trapped inside a mechanical board game that they must dismantle in order to save themselves and generations of other children in this action-packed debut that’s a steampunk Jumanji with a Middle Eastern flair.

 

May

9781101997239Pablo Cartaya (Cuban American)
The Epic Fail of Arturo Zamora; Viking Books for Young Readers, May 17th, 2017
@phcartaya
Save the restaurant. Save the town. Get the girl. Make Abuela proud. Can thirteen-year-old Arturo Zamora do it all or is he in for a BIG, EPIC FAIL?

9781481478687Sandhya Menon (Indian American)
When Dimple Met Rishi; Simon Pulse, May 30th, 2017
@smenonbooks
A laugh-out-loud, heartfelt YA romantic comedy, told in alternating perspectives, about two Indian-American teens whose parents have arranged for them to be married.

 

June

S. K. Ali (Muslim American)
Saints and Misfits; Simon and Schuster, June 17th, 2017
@SajidahWrites
How much can you tell about a person just by looking at them?
Janna Yusuf knows a lot of people can’t figure out what to make of her…an Arab Indian-American hijabi teenager who is a Flannery O’Connor obsessed book nerd, aspiring photographer, and sometime graphic novelist is not exactly easy to put into a box.

5142dan-2ol-_sx320_bo1204203200_Leah Henderson (African American)
One Shadow On the Wall; Atheneum, June 6th, 2017
@LeahsMark
An orphaned boy in contemporary Senegal must decide between doing what is right and what is easy as he struggles to keep a promise he made to his dying father in this captivating debut novel laced with magical realism.

 

August

Rebecca Barrow
You Don’t Know Me But I Know You; HarperTeen, August 29th, 2017
@RebeccaKBarrow

Source: Kerri Jarema, bustle.com

Source: Kerri Jarema, bustle.com

Celia C. Perez (Mexican-Cuban)
The First Rule of Punk; Viking Books for Young Readers, August 22, 2017
@CeliaCPerez
The First Rule of Punk is a wry and heartfelt exploration of friendship, finding your place, and learning to rock out like no one’s watching.
There are no shortcuts to surviving your first day at a new school—you can’t fix it with duct tape like you would your Chuck Taylors. On Day One, twelve-year-old Malú (María Luisa, if you want to annoy her) inadvertently upsets Posada Middle School’s queen bee, violates the school’s dress code with her punk rock look, and disappoints her college-professor mom in the process.

 

September

Tochi Onyebuchi (African American)
Beasts Made Of Night; Razorbill, September 26th, 2017
@TochiTrueStory
Packed with dark magic and thrilling action, Beasts Made of Night is a gritty Nigerian-influenced fantasy perfect for fans of Paolo Bacigalupi and Nnedi Okorafor.
In the walled city of Kos, corrupt mages can magically call forth sin from a sinner in the form of sin-beasts – lethal creatures spawned from feelings of guilt.

 

October

Julie C. Dao (Vietnamese American)
Forest of a Thousand Lanterns; Philomel Books, October 10th, 2017
@jules_writes
Eighteen-year-old Xifeng is beautiful. The stars say she is destined for greatness, that she is meant to be Empress of Feng Lu. But only if she embraces the darkness within her.

tigers-daughterK Arsenault Rivera (Latinx)
The Tiger’s Daughter; Tor Books, October 3rd, 2017
@ArsenaultRivera
Even gods can be slain
The Hokkaran empire has conquered every land within their bold reach―but failed to notice a lurking darkness festering within the people. Now, their border walls begin to crumble, and villages fall to demons swarming out of the forests.

dear-martin-coverNic Stone (African American)
Dear Martin
; Crown Books for Young Readers, October 17th, 2017
@getnicced
Justyce McAllister is top of his class, captain of the debate team, and set for the Ivy League next year—but none of that matters to the police officer who just put him in handcuffs.

 

Fall

Heny Lien (Taiwanese American)
Peasprout Chen, Future Legend of Skate and Sword; Razorbill/Random Penguin House, Fall 2017
@HenryLienAuthor

Axie Oh (Korean American)
Rebel Seoul; Tu Books, Fall 2017
@axieoh

 

 

Advertisements

About Nathalie Mvondo

Nathalie Mvondo lives in Northern California and studies anthropology and nutrition. She is a writer and a blogger.
This entry was posted in Books, MG/YA, Middle Grade, YA Books and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 2017 Debut Authors of Color & Native Americans

  1. Great list, Nathalie! I’m a debut author too. My middle grade novel, The First Rule of Punk (Viking Books for Young Readers), will be out on August 22! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Such wonderful news, Celia! Thank you for sharing it here. I’ll be able to update the list tonight (at least that’s the goal), and I’m already curious about your book. 😉
      I’m sure I missed quite a few authors, so if you know of any writer of Color or Native American debut author who should be on this list, please have them contact me at nathalie at multiculturalism dot rocks, or they can leave a comment here. I’m interested in picture book debut authors too. Thank you in advance, I wish you a fantastic week! 🙂

      Like

  2. Nic Stone with “Dear Martin” is a dope debut too! She’s releasing her’s 10/17!

    Like

  3. debraj11 says:

    Great list. Adding to my TBR.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s